Factsheet: Law on Forestry

Law on Forestry

Key Information
Full name of Instrument & Measure (English): 
Law on Forestry No. 41/1999
Law No. 41/1999 on Forestry states that Indonesian forest lands are divided into three major functional categories: production forest, protection forest and conservation forest. Convertible production forest is forest which is projected to be deforested for nonforest uses, such as agriculture, estate crops and settlement. The decision to release this land from the forest estate is subject to ministerial approval based on proposals from industry. Once the land is released, its new use may yield products subject to regulation by the local government. Law No. 41/1999 on Forestry recognises traditional forests which are under the jurisdiction of customary communities. However, it classifies customary forests as ‘state forest’. It enables customary communities to manage and use customary forest ‘as long as they are evidently in place and their presence is acknowledged’. A customary community can only obtain the rights to use and manage customary land or forest if their existence is acknowledged by the state. Although they may have been using the land for many generations, they do not have the right of ownership. Law No. 41/1999 on Forestry indicates that forests may be converted for nonforestry purposes such as plantations, transmigration and agricultural settlements under certain conditions.
Stimulate sustainable forest management. Regulate reforestation or afforestation.

Sector/Topic targeted:

Responsible Authority: 
Ministry of Forestry


Year Instrument & Measure Started: