Factsheet: Environment Code

Environment Code

Key Information


Full name of Instrument & Measure (English): 
Environment Code
The Legislative Decree no. 152 of 3 April 2006, so called the “Environment Code”, simplifies, rationalises and reorganises environmental regulations into six key sectors: waste, water, soil protection, air pollution, environmental procedure and environmental damage. Environmental regulations are divided into 5 chapters: procedures for strategic environmental assessment (VAS), assessment of environmental impact (VIA) and integrated environmental authorisation (IPPC); soil protection, combating desertification, protecting water from pollution and managing water resources; waste management and reclamation; air protection and reduction of atmospheric emissions; and environmental damage. In particular in the V° part of this law are given for biomass power plants the regulations for obtaining the emissions authorisation and established limit values and monitoring frequencies of emission in the atmosphere.


Year Instrument & Measure Started: